Dear Absent Parent,

CarissaBlog4

We all have stories where we know someone or have a parent ourselves who is absent from our lives. Meaning, the child may have suffered from emotional, physical, or mental abuse, the child may have suffered from abandonment, or the parent suffers from a drug and/or alcohol addictions-there are many, many more reasons for this matter. When I was 12 years old, my mother remarried a Cocaine addict. She explained to me later on that he had fell into the addiction after his father passed away, but that he had gone through a rehabilitation center and has not used since. They met online, and what attracted her to him was the fact that he apparently “made six figures and loved children.” They got married shortly after and she was in her own world with her new husband.

However, while she was pregnant with their second child, it became known to the family that he had relapsed, and fell into the addiction again. I was angry more than anything, that my mother allowed a man to bring potential harm to her children, and then was fuming when she told me that she would not leave him. The worst two years of my life occurred after that. The things I saw while he was under the influence of Cocaine was scary, dangerous, and maddening. The closer my mother and her husband got, the farther apart I wanted to be from my mother. There were times I feared for my life, locked myself in my closet and cried to God to help us and help us find peace and happiness. One morning, my little brother ended up being the hero and telling his school social worker what had been going on in the home, and my father was immediately notified. He, along with my step-mother who I now consider my mom, and my big brother who is now one of my biggest protectors, were our heroes and immediately saved us and took us in.

I, along with two of my brothers, were the lucky ones who got a second chance at life. We had been evicted from five or six homes at that point in time, and they were empty million dollar homes. But when I got to MY home, for the first time, it finally felt right. I finally felt safe, and at peace. Some of you may not believe in a higher power and that is totally and completely okay, but my higher power answered my prayers. We got to attend an amazing school, I made lifelong friends, we got a whole other set of wonderful grandparents, an amazing aunt and uncle and crazy awesome cousins.

Life was really, really great for the first time in a very long time. But all of a sudden I wasn’t thinking about my mother anymore. Literally months would go by and I would forget she existed. She has missed everything in my life. All of my High school proms, my first kiss, my first heartbreak, my high school graduation. Everything. She would try to call me on my birthday for a couple of years, but it would turn into us fighting and I would end up crying…(and it wasn’t because I wanted to). So I made the decision to do what was better for me and to cut her out of my life. Completely. As I have gone through my social work classes I think, “How can I resolve this anger inside?” “How can I get closure, without building a relationship with her?” “I can’t be the only child who feels this way, right?” All I know for certain is I can’t continue to live life with this unresolved issue with a human who gave birth to me and at the same time, it is not healthy or safe to be in a relationship with her.

I have thought about writing her a letter, to see what she would say, to see what she would think. If she would actually put my feelings or my needs before hers. It has never happened before, so it is really hard telling. I think this would be a rough sketch of what I would say (and maybe those of you who can relate may think too):

Dear Absent Parent:

It has been many years since we have last spoken, and you have missed out on so much. I could go on and on about the amazing support system I have, a great boyfriend whom I live with, and all the goals I have accomplished and will accomplish soon. My life has been really great the past few years; but I am angry. I am angry that you chose another human being over your own children. I am angry that you have always put yourself first before anyone else. I am angry that you do not admit fault for your actions; and that you put blame onto others instead. I am angry that I am projecting these issues onto current relationships because I am in need of resolving these feelings with you but want nothing to do with you at the same time. Then I am angry that this probably fuels you and gives you more power. I am okay, my heart is full. But my anger towards you is still there. I am terrified to be anything like you..in fear that I may hurt others the way you have hurt me and my family. You need to take a step back, and resolve your issues as well. Stop pushing it to the side and bring it to the surface for once. APOLOGIZE for the things you have done wrong. When you have read this over, and are ready to talk in a manner where you are unselfish and ready to take responsibility for your actions; I want to gain closure so I can move on with my life.

woof, that was heavy. But I thought this was important to share to connect with those who can relate and help those who are wanting to help their friends with their hard situations as well.

Feel free to comment below on your feelings of this post, I would love to know your thoughts.

xoxo,

Carissa

13 thoughts on “Dear Absent Parent,

  1. I cried when I read this. Honestly, I didn’t know the details. Through my tears, all I can say is that you and your brothers have my unconditional love and respect. I love you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love you so much Aunt Staci. I’m so sorry, I didn’t mean to make you cry! But it means so much that you read this, it took me hours to physically post it because I didn’t want to risk bothering people with my past issues but realized it may possibly help someone and that was the whole point. I love you very much, thank you so much for being a huge reason of my well being today 🙂

      Like

  2. Carissa,
    I know you don’t know me ,but I wanted to comment. From someone who has an absent parent, my father. I to still need closure and like you do not want a relationship with him. He chose along time ago that unless it met his needs then seeing my sister and I was not a priority. Most of my anger from him comes from the fact that he knew he had a life threatening disorder and that there was a 50% chance his kids could too. He never once picked up the phone to let my sister or I know that we need to get checked for it. If he would have done this then I would likely still have my 1st child here with me today, but because my father is so selfish and couldn’t be bothered with a phone call or a letter I now grieve for my son .

    I think your letter was perfect. I do hope you decide to send it. And now thanks to your courage, I know what I need to do also. I am going to write a letter to my father. I doubt it will have the effect I would like it to, but I think writing it out and knowing he knows how I feel will help me some. And hopefully it will be enough for closure. Thank you again for posting this and for Staci reposting it so that I could read it. I will be thinking about you and hope you get your closure
    Either way your mom sadly has missed out and continues to miss out on an amazing daughter! God bless your dad and stepmom! And you also! Take care and thank you!

    An old friend of your Aunt Staci’s,
    Kristal Adams-Blessing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kristal,

      First of all thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing you story with me and the rest of us. YOU are a very strong and courageous woman yourself. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your son, I can’t even begin to imagine how that would feel. I am so glad to hear that my post has inspired you to write a letter to your father as well. It is important to resolve our feelings of anger and gain closure for the things that happened in our past in order for us to move on and live a fulfilled life; and in order for you to be able to grieve the loss of your son. It’s hard to see it within our own families, (trust me I give my mother NO empathy, which I need to work on) but your father may benefit from talking with you as well, about the unfortunate terminal illness that has and is affecting the both of you, to benefit both of your lives. But then again, like you said, if it doesn’t turn out the way you would like it to I know it will definitely help to know that he knows exactly how you feel. I would love to further discuss this with you via e-mail if you would like!

      Because of your uplifting and encouraging words, YOU have inspired me to carry on the action of sending a letter to my mother. I will be thinking of you as well and would love for you to keep me updated on how things go, if you need help writing that letter, or anything at all! My Aunt Staci is a remarkable woman and is good at these kind of things as well 🙂

      I wish you peace and happiness. Thank you again for your post, take care of yourself.

      Sincerely,
      Carissa Hunter

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Carissa
    Thank you so much for posting this. I am currently going through the same thing. Mine has to deal with my grandmother and how she has been emotionally abusive to my mother and I. I no longer want a relationship with her and have told her in numerous ways like your letter. They never go over well the lack of responsibility for her actions continue. Although I got a lot off my chest to her and for the most part I feel relieved I am still frustrated with her and can’t understand why she can’t change. I’m learning to move on day by day and keeping the pain out of my relationships now. It’s just nice to know that I am not the only one going to through situations like this and that it’s okay to break away from something that’s toxic no matter who the person is family or not. Thank you! And I hope you find the closure you are looking for! I will pray for you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Monika!

      Thank you so much for sharing! I am sorry to hear about your grandmother. From what you have told me you seem so strong and continue to be honest with yourself and with her about your feelings to help you move forward; and that is so brave. It feels great to know I am not alone as well! Just remember that there is a positive intent to ALL behavior, your grandmother just may not see it in the same light as you (ahem, I need to practice what I preach). I am glad we are able to help each other! Please keep me updated on your situation, and I wish you the absolute best!

      Like

  4. Oooh… I think you wanting closure is great. I think it is absolutely necessary even but… your letter I don’t really think is the best it could be. I agree you need to make her understand how she hurt you but I think making your letter devoid of all emotion would be even more of a wake up call for her. Right now there is so much emotion that it sounds more like whining… I can completely understand who though. I love you Carissa you are a strong and wonderful soul and I wish you the best in this matter but… you can do better.
    ~AmandaT

    Like

    • Thank you Amanda!

      You are right, and that is why I said it was a rough sketch because I would definitely want to add more and make it more straightforward to send more of a powerful message! Thank you for your advice, this will definitely help me!

      Like

  5. Oh Carissa, you are SOOOO not alone! I really struggle with needing closure from an estranged relationship as well. I didn’t know your stort with this. I don’t want to put it all out there online but next time you’re in town call me and we will catch up!

    Like

Leave a comment